Solo traveling: a breath of fresh air

 

 

I don’t know the meaning of life. I’m searching it everyday and I believe, the best way to look for it, is to travel, to visit new places, to meet new people, to hear their experiences, to see the mountains, to talk to the flowing rivers and to sleep under the stars. So one fine day, I decided to travel to some place not so far, with in my budget and worth going for. And I wanted to travel alone this time, so that I won’t have to convince anyone to go here and there, where I will be my own guide and companion. But then I thought: would n’t it be boring without friends? I talk so much, what will i do to not feel bored through out the journey? hmmmm.. Then I tried to convince myself: lets do it for once, what if I like it. So the next thing was, I boarded the train, reached my first destination and then never had second thoughts about my decision, I was all happy with my decision. I boarded Shatabdi train at New Delhi Railway Station and deboarded it at Kathgodam (a town in the Nainital district of Uttarakhand state of India), then took a taxi and went to Naukuchiatal (or ‘lake of nine corners’ is a small hill station in Nainital district of the Indian state of Uttarakhand) stayed there in a resort beside the lake for one and a half day then took a local bus and went to Nainital city ( a popular hill station in the Uttarakhand and headquarters of Nainital district in the Kumaon foothills of the outer Himalayas). My two days were over now. Then I went to Mukteshwar (a town and tourist destination in the Nainital district), spent one day there, now my three days were over. All these three destinations were within a distance of 50-100 km from each-other and nearly 250-300 kms from Delhi where I stay. Now let me tell you my experience as a first time solo traveler, it was awesome and pleasant. During the entire time I didn’t feel bored even for once, saw mountains, lakes, birds, did trekking, rock climbing, rappelling, zorbing, kayaking, para gliding, met new people, made friends and came back as a different person, as a more confident man, who is willing to take risks, who can travel to any part of the world without any companion and who enjoys his own company. So on the basis of my personal experience, I suggest everyone to travel alone sometimes, at least one solo trip a year. Traveling alone is soul searching and discovering a new, hitherto unknown side of yours. Pursuing a quest can bring a purpose to your life. Remember life is short, we can make it large by doing things we love to do. It’s never too late to start. So let’s do it, do it for our own happiness! 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

